top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdsy

NEW TALK - Amytis (single)


Click the image to listen on Bandcamp.


1. Amytis


"These ill-forgotten tracks,

They’re running silver and exact,

Through the plumes of grey smokestacks,

They cut a path, asking, “don’t look back.”


Like the storm raging from one’s bell,

Well, there’s a longing to be held,

With our boundless plains to share,

In a holding cell.


“When we came here, We came here with nothing,

And when I leave, I’ll feel like I left something.”


The waves spit and splatter their spume,

Course through all our open wounds,

A child’s cocoon is left marooned,

Their blue eyes, fading white, with the moon.


Ribs protrude, from my broken form,

As the sky reveals its forlorn swarm,

Masses of horses, Men, hooded and high,

With their scythes raised above, the lined bars I abide.


“When we came here, We came here with nothing,

And when I leave, I’ll feel like I left something.”


And I saw, a bright mountain rise,

Right out of the sea,

And at its peak, I swear,

There’s a reflection of me.


And there can be, a hanging garden,

For all to see,

But, you can’t plant a prayer,

And hope is not a seed.


Amytis, I long for thee.


Amytis, I long for thee."

1 view0 comments

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page