top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdsy

Turtle Bay Television - No Future (single)

Updated: Sep 8, 2022


Click the image to listen on Bandcamp


1 No Future


"“No Future” is sonically indebted to the layered pop of the Beach Boys and Berlin-era David Bowie and thematically influenced by the dystopian documentaries of Adam Curtis, notably his 2016 film HyperNormalisation. The track was written by Thomas, recorded and produced by Will in his home studio, and mixed and mastered by long-time collaborator Michael Jelinek of Jelly Sound.


‘I wanted to capture this feeling of being compelled to learn and understand real, upsetting things about the world, whilst also feeling that learning those things wasn’t really going to change me or the world around me, making me feel sad and kind of silly. So I wanted to send myself up a bit. I originally focused more on the words than the music, but once we got into the studio, all the stuff we’d been listening to, mostly the Beach Boys and easy listening acts like The Everly Brothers and Glen Campbell, came to the fore and lead us to a very lush, harmonious sound.’ - Thomas"

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page